How to Report a HEAT® Tip:
IN MICHIGAN: Call 1-800-242-HEAT
or report auto theft activities
Callers can then offer information on auto theft activity throughout the state.
This program is a statewide program and will pay for information about auto
theft activity which takes place in Michigan and/or is prosecuted in Michigan.
- Up to $1,000 for the arrest and warrant of individuals suspected of auto theft, auto theft related insurance fraud and/or auto theft related identity theft.
- Up to $10,000 for the arrest and binding over for trial of suspected theft ring members
and/or chop shop operators.
- $2,000 for the arrest and warrant of a carjacking suspect.
The HEAT® tip line
is a confidential toll-free hotline that is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
The tip line is monitored by the Michigan State Police Criminal Investigation Section, which directs tip information to the appropriate police agencies
throughout the state.
If the auto theft activity is in progress please call your local police, then call 1-800-242-HEAT®
Whether you call the HEAT® tip line
or submit a tip online, the Michigan State Police forwards your tip to the appropriate law enforcement agency for
OUT OF STATE: If you are in another state and become aware of auto theft activity, report the activity to the local law enforcement
agency. However, you would not be eligible for a reward from the Michigan HEAT® Program for these tips.
Other auto theft prevention programs:
- Illinois has a Beat Auto Theft (BAT) Program.
- Combat Auto Theft (CAT) is used in California, Louisiana, Minnesota, and
Pennsylvania. To report suspicious vehicle theft activities in California , call 1-800-TELL-CHP.
- Virginia has a statewide tip reward program. To report auto theft activity in Virginia, call 1-800-947-HEAT.
- Watch Your Car Program. This program encourages owners of motor vehicles to voluntarily display a decal or device, such as a
state-issued, customized license plate, on their vehicles to alert police that their vehicles normally are not driven between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. Motorists also may choose to display another decal or device to signify that
their vehicles normally are not driven across or in the proximity of international land borders or ports. A few states that have this program are
Arizona, Maryland and Texas, call 1-800-CAR-WATCH.
- RELATED LINKS